Melinda Not Mindy

Big dreams. Little city. Life in Portland, Oregon

Thursdays with Mindy: Holiday Haze

on December 8, 2011

Howdy – I know things have been somewhat of a ghost town around here lately. Especially anemic on the nerd front. It’s mostly in direct response to the mad rush the few weeks right before the holidays.

Here is a brief sampling of what’s going on…

FINALS:

This week and next. Finishing up my Publisher and Dreamweaver courses this weekend. Next week I’m writing a Marketing plan for a fake business (Nerdy Knits) and taking an E-Commerce final. By the end of next week I should have more free time to craft a re-awakening of the blog.

FAMILY:

We were BUSY this weekend – volunteering, family portraits and hitting up the Oregon Zoo Lights annual festival. Had a family dinner on Tuesday, shopping with my ladies yesterday. The next few weeks are sparse on that front, but I’m working on our annual slideshow (have sifted through over 8,000 pictures in the last week). The DH Dan has an appointment next week to get a tooth pulled so I will be nursing him all next weekend.

INTERNSHIP/VOLUNTEERING:

Had a volunteer orientation yesterday for the Portland State University Digital Media Conference this coming Sunday/Monday ($200 attendance cost for FREE). Expect some posting about the DMC next week. I’m now solidly into the YWCA internship as well and have a few projects moving along on that front. I’m spending every Friday at the office. It’s been  lovely to meet new people and get out of the house.

HOLIDAYS:

Shopping, planning, putting up decorations. Making playlists. Cooking food. Wrapping presents. Mailing cards. It’s all too much. J/K – it’s a normal amount. But it’s a lot.

JOB SEARCH:

Still bumping along, applying for three jobs a week – haven’t had any interview calls in over a month. Just rejection emails. Can’t tell if that’s a good or bad thing at this point. I’m not trying to be picky here folks. Just something Full-Time with reasonable pay that I will be successful at. Maybe I should expect something to pop up after the holidays?

WINTER TERM 2012:

Got all registered this week – taking 16 credits. Yikes! Two of the courses are one-shots though, so it sounds more impressive than it will be. I am trying to pack as much learning into this year as possible, while I have the “free time” to do it. While I’m shooting for a Website Development and Design degree, I think I’m really only aiming for a Web Assistant certificate at this juncture. We will see where I am at the end of Spring 2012. *fingers crossed*

NOVEL WRITING:

Has made no forward progress. Really, with everything that’s been going on, it shouldn’t come as a surprise. I’m anticipating lots of free time next week once the finals are out of the way. Then it will be red ink and tears.

AS FOR THE BLOG:

The TinyHeroes family is going to get a little bigger this next year. We are beefing up the contributors roster. As Samwise Gamgee might say, we’re going to “share the load.” Cause if one blogger is fun, two’s a party, three is a raging party and four is like a rave of some sort. With glitter and unicorns.

I’ve invited the DH to share blogging duties with me in 2012. He will be posting  tech updates and video game reviews.

If anyone else is interested in submitting a weekly column on TinyHeroes related to nerd things, TV, movies, tech, comic books, books, video games, crafts, costuming, writing, art, beer, programming – let me know! I’m feeling pretty open about this concept right now.

So yes, things are gonna continue to be quiet ’round these parts until 2012 really kicks off. But I’m feeling pretty stoked and re-energized just thinking about all the nerd that is going to happen soon. 🙂

EXCITING NERD SPUTTERINGS ON THE HORIZON:

The Hunger Games movie. Game of Thrones Season 2. Avengers! Emerald City Comic Con (booked our hotel today). Cabin in the Woods. Stumptown Comics Fest. The Legend of Korra. Google IO? San Diego Comic Con 2012? What else am I missing here people?


One response to “Thursdays with Mindy: Holiday Haze

  1. Jeromy Hoeck says:

    you have got an important weblog right here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

Leave a comment